Rhyl FC 704


1 - 2

The New Saints FC

Rhyl FC v
The New Saints FC

Kick off:14:30 Friday, 2nd Apr 2010
at Belle Vue
Fixture Type: Welsh Premier League
Attendance: 587

Referee: Lee Evans

Saints Ten Points Clear with Late Sharp Strike

Rhyl FC 1-2 The New Saints

TNS have gone ten points clear at the top of the table thanks to a 90th minute Chris Sharp winner at Belle Vue. The striker was returning to Rhyl for the first time in TNS colours and his late winner could well prove to be title-winning for his new club.

The Saints took the lead on the stroke of half-time when long-serving midfielder Scott Ruscoe struck for the visitors. Things got worse for the Lilywhites as Phil Doran was sent off for a second yellow card before the break.

Despite being down to ten men, parity was restored after the interval, when Rhyl's leading scorer Matthew Williams equalised on 53 minutes. However, Sharp who joined the Saints in the January window from Bangor had the last laugh.

Rhyl: J. Cudworth; M. Naylor, P. Doran, G. Strong, S. Dowling; J. Leah, C. Williams, A. Owens, A. Pearson; M. Williams, M. Connolly

Subs: G. Owen, P. Ojapah, T. Kirk, A. Ballard

The New Saints: P. Harrison; D. Holmes, T. Holmes, P. Baker, S. Evans; B. Hogan, S. Ruscoe, J. McKenna, R. Marriott; C. Sharp, J. Wood

Subs: S. Abbott, A. Darlington, C. Marriott